Forest Age Classifications

last updated 2/2002

Forests are classed into 3 stages:

•Seedling/sapling (up to 5.5 inches dbh)
•Poletimber (5.5 to 11.5 inches dbh)
•Sawtimber (11.5 inches dbh on up)

NOTE: dbh = Diameter at Breast Height

Bear in mind that stands impacted by disease/insects and various harvesting methods may have a combination of these classes within a stand, generally a timber stand is defined as a group of trees with similar composition, site class (soil productivity/growth potential), stocking, and size class (generally the size class which predominates) Generally, greater than 50 percent of the stocking is the size class that the stand is classified as.